Scraping through Advanced Search and Java

I am looking at a gold mine of Canadian Business information and I would love to build a scrape that allows me to submit a set of variables to invoke a Detailed Search on the following page:

http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/app/ccc/search/cccSearch.do?language=eng&porta...

The result of the search is a URL, example:

http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/app/ccc/search/search.do;jsessionid=0000V1kqcV...

This URL does not allow for the tidy methods described in tutorials 3 or 7. I am not a programmer but I think I smell Java. :shock:

Once the search is complete I need to scrape the data. To get to the detailed data the user is required to click a "Consolidated Report" link followed by selecting a type of report (short, complete or custom). Finally the detail presents itself. I can go through all of the steps manually until I create a scrapable page and then load that into SS, although I haven't even tried that yet. I just was wondering if the possibility exists to build this from start to finish.
By the way, I'm having loads of fun with this product and it is possibly going to be useful in helping my wife with some of her research. I'm creating contact lists for her from various business sites and doing it manually can be quite tedious. My first real scrape however took me about 3 hours to build and troubleshoot and the end result was only 12 records that she could use. My daughter can type those 12 records in a few minutes so I have a ways to go. If I can get the site above to work I'll blow her doors off!

Not a problem. Good luck with your project.

Best,

Todd

Thanks, Todd. I think that you should call this forum "ask Todd" because you seem to be answering everyone's posts without much help from the community. I hope to teach myself enough to be helpful as well but I've got a long way to go.